Meet Your Escheators (or, in some cases, Welcome Back)

by Michael Rato

Most state unclaimed property divisions are part of the Department of the State Treasurer or Department of Revenue (the latter, some would argue, is quite telling).  In any event, that means that the head of the state’s unclaimed property program in many states is an elected official.  There most recent election cycle featured a number of State Treasurer, State Auditor, or Attorney General races, and starting in 2015 we will have some new (or re-elected) officials dealing with unclaimed property issues.  Meet your escheators (elected State Treasurer unless otherwise noted):

Alabama Young Boozer

ArizonaJeff DeWit

ArkansasAndrea Lea (State Auditor)

CaliforniaBetty Yee (State Controller)

ColoradoWalker Stapleton

ConnecticutDenise Nappier

FloridaJeff Atwater (State CFO)

IdahoRon Crane

IllinoisMike Frerichs

Iowa  Michael Fitzgerald

KansasRon Estes

MassachusettsDeb Goldberg

NebraskaDon Stenberg

NevadaDan Schwartz

Rhode IslandSeth Magaziner

South CarolinaCurtis Loftis

South Dakota Rich Sattgast

VermontBeth Pearce

WisconsinMatt Adamczyk

WyomingMark Gordon